Why?

Feathers. Soft and fluffy or strong and structured. When you say the word ‘Feathers’, what comes to mind? This…..

or this….

Both offer protection from a mother bird to her chicks. Safe in the nest. Lined with the soft down. Offering warmth and padding. Chicks tottering behind their mother. Inquisitive. Bold. Then, scurrying quickly to hide beneath her wing. Safe from a danger or just sheltering in the shade. Both feathers giving protection.

So why Feathers?

It is almost a year since my cancer diagnosis. I was fragile, yet strong. In a daze, yet focused. Living in my world, yet upside down. I was on the treadmill going from one appointment to another. And then one morning I woke with a verse…

“He will cover you with His feathers, you will take refuge under His wings. His faithfulness will be a protective shield.” Psalm 91 : 4

As time went on and more people started praying for me, I did, indeed, feel covered with His feathers. Each feather was a prayer. A person covering me in prayer. Each feather became precious. A person. A prayer. Each feather joined together and became a wing. His wing. A wing I took refuge under. Like the baby chicks, who ventured out and about before seeking refuge again, I stepped out from time to time. Emboldened. ‘I’ve got this’, only to realise I needed that protection. That wing. Those feathers. His wing. His feathers. And I took refuge again. So feathers became very important to me. As the year went on, and more things started happening, the rest of the verse took up its full meaning. His faithfulness was a protective shield for me and my family.

So, as I start this new year to focus and explore my creative streak, I’ll do it under His feathers. Under His wing. Hopefully to make a difference. Hopefully to share His feathers. So the feathers come with me on my new journey!! And Feathers is where I’ll show you my progress!

You can read about my cancer journey and God’s love here

Welcome to Feathers!!!

1 thought on “Why?

Leave a comment